A bookshop, print studio & salon in the Highland Park neighborhood of Los Angeles

5002 York Blvd.
LA, CA 90042
323.259.2490

Etsy

workshop

Drawing Club Returns!
Mar
12

Drawing Club Returns!

7:30 PM

 

Drawing Club returns! That's right, back by popular demand, it's another evening of Drawing Club at Pop-Hop with Adriana Yugovich on Wednesday, March 12 at 7:30 pm.

This workshop will be brimming with idea-generating, image-making games that will un-train your brain to stop thinking so much and surrender to the power of the pen. Perfect for artists with writer's block, writers with artist's block, emerging and retired cartoonists, or those who just want to get their draw on. All materials will be provided, and participants will not leave the workshop empty-handed.

Sign up today for $10 ($12 at the door).
 
   
 

 

‹‹ return to events list
Don’t Hide Behind Your Skirt
Feb
12
‹‹ return to events list
Holiday Craft Workshop
Dec
21
‹‹ return to events list
WWLA comes to Pop-Hop
All Hallows Zine!
Oct
29
‹‹ return to events list
Madhouse Fog experiment
Jul
12

Madhouse Fog experiment

7:00 PM
 
 
 
Please join us on Friday, July 12 at 7 pm for a reading with a twist. Using his new novel Madhouse Fog as a jumping-off point, Sean Carswell will present an Exquisite Corpse writing prompt. Kiyoshi Nakazawa will then deepen the prompt with a drawing element.
 
About Madhouse Fog: Fleeing a troubled marriage, the narrator takes a seemingly benign grant-writing position at a psychiatric hospital in Southern California. Once the grounds of a scandal-ridden private university, the hospital now houses a menagerie of lost souls including a wandering academic who still believes he works at the university and Lola, the narrator’s long-lost second love. Soon, the narrator is enmeshed in a struggle between Dr. Bishop, a brilliant, batty research psychologist, and Frank Walters, a dapper, blind advertising executive who believes that Dr. Bishop’s research has lucrative implications. It is up to the narrator to make sure that Frank Walters is unable to harness the findings for questionable ends, as he begins a metaphysical journey that may lead him to murder. In the tradition of Paul Auster’s New York Trilogy and Haruki Murakami’s early novels, Madhouse Fog bends the boundaries of noir and invites the reader to regard the world in an entirely new way.
 
About Exquisite Corpse: A method by which a collection of words or images is collectively assembled. Each collaborator adds to a composition in sequence, either by following a rule or by being allowed to see the end of what the previous person contributed. See more at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exquisite_corpse.
 
Sean Carswell is the author of the novels Drinks for the Little Guy, Train Wreck Girl, and Madhouse Fog. He wrote the short story collections Barney’s Crew and Glue and Ink Rebellion. He co-founded the independent book publisher Gorsky Press and the music magazine Razorcake. He has been a regular contributor to Flipside, Ink 19, and Clamor. His writing has appeared in diverse places: the skateboarding magazine Thrasher, tiny ‘zines like Zisk, and prestigious literary journals like The Southeastern Review and The Rattling Wall. He currently teaches writing and literature at California State University Channel Islands.
 
Kiyoshi Nakazawa is a Los Angeles-based illustrator and fine artist. He is the creative force behind the Drunken Master II comic. He is a regular contributor to Giant Robot and Razorcake Magazine. His work has appeared in the LA Weekly, Dark Horse Comics, and Destroy All Music, as well as on the cover of books and records. He also teaches a regular class on making your own comics at Blue Rooster Studios.
 
Pop-Hop Books & Print
5002 York Blvd, LA, CA 90042
‹‹ return to events list
Itty Bitty Chit Chat
Itty Bitty Chit Chat
Jul
21

Itty Bitty Chit Chat

11:00 AM

 

We are pleased to present another series of Itty Bitty Chit Chat, a baby sign language class with Hubbell Radue

Each session is a concentrated curriculum consisting of 20 useful signs to use with your baby during daily routines. These signs will help you bridge the communication gap between you and your baby while boosting his/her IQ level and stimulating cognitive development. As a visual language your child will have the ability to communicate sooner meaning fewer tantrums, greater self-esteem and confidence, as well as establishing a stronger parent-child relationship. American Sign Language will be taught with acute awareness of placement, hand shape and expression in order to emulate the language accurately and give your baby the added benefits of bilingual development.

Hubbell Radue is a certified Educational Sign Language Interpreter with extensive classroom experience as a teacher and interpreter. Fluent in American Sign Language since 2002, she became a freelance sign language interpreter in 2007 working primarily in the medical industry fields of women’s health and pediatrics. In 2009 she returned to education as a sign language interpreter for K-12. While pregnant with her first baby, Hubbell decided to develop a curriculum to teach her husband to cultivate early communication with their baby. The curriculum became a passion she calls Itty Bitty Chit Chat, and now she teaches all over Los Angeles, enabling parents with the tools to chat with their babies early and often.

There will be four sessions on Sundays at 11 am beginning June 30. The class fee is $100 for all four classes in advance or $25 for a single class.

Class Options

 

‹‹ return to events list
Drawing Club for Writers!
Jun
19
‹‹ return to events list
Exquisite Corpse Zine Workshop
May
29
‹‹ return to events list

Pages